How far from APL??

natalie20121

Hello ladies!

I'm very new to this long hair care thing but I'm currently transitioning and I noticed that over a course of 4 months I barely have an inch of new growth and in some places only a 1/4 of an inch. I'm not sure what my length is. Is it shoulder length? Am I close to APL? Should I measure my back? I'm confused :perplexed (Pic is in my avitar)

I know I'm making progress in health and maintaining because I used to lose a palm full of hair when I washed. Now a lose just a few strands and its from the root because I can see my newgrowth along with my relaxed ends. But if my hair isn't really growing it will be 15 years before I see waist length :sad:

Please help!!! And any tips to get more growth is appreciated.

beans4reezy

APL and your hair is lovely. Most likely, your issue isn't growth, its retaining your growth. Getting hair longer means keeping the hair you grow on your head.

Are you protective styling?
How often do you use heat?
Please let us know your reggie and our hairologists can chime in with tips :)

natalie20121

APL and your hair is lovely. Most likely, your issue isn't growth, its retaining your growth. Getting hair longer means keeping the hair you grow on your head.

Are you protective styling?
How often do you use heat?
Please let us know your reggie and our hairologists can chime in with tips :)

Wow! Thanks!!!:blush:

I have been protective styling strictly for a month now and before that I just kept it in a pony (not a bun and no satin cap) but i didn't know about co washing or anything. My hair was matting so bad from transitioning that my hair was coming out in clumps but my hair hardly comes out any more. Very few strands. I turned the shedding and matting around in a matter of weeks!!!