How much hair do you lose by co-washing regularly

I used to co-wash every 2 days, but have fallen off due to laziness. I now cornrow my hair under a wig, washing once a week and every time I comb out my hair I experience shedding. When I wash and then detangle and I loose hair. So my question to those ladies who co-wash 2-3 times weekly, how much hair do you loose by all that washing and doesn't this go against the principle of low manipulation?

leigh.hill

I am a newbie so I am by no means an expect, but I have been co-washing 3 to 5 times a week since last summer. I have not experienced much shedding or breakage from the actual act of co-washing. I use a condition that instantly detangles my hair. Co-washing has been my saving grace since I exercise so much.

I co-wash to get the sweat, salt, and overall funk from the scalp. Before I discovered co-washing and I washed my hair 2 times a week. With all the exercise my hair was extremely dry, brittle, dull, and weak. I have a scalp/skin condition and what I have learned from that is that I need to have a clean and healthy scalp to have healthy hair. I hope this helps.

NikkiGirl

I sometimes co-wash four or five days a weeks. I don't really lose any hair because I do not comb at all.

Dposh167

i've been co-washing religiously for the last 1.5 years. and overall, i'd say i lost a lot. That's why i stopped. Not completely. but i stopped washing every 2-4 days...to just 1-2x a week

CurlTalk

I am a newbie so I am by no means an expect, but I have been co-washing 3 to 5 times a week since last summer. I have not experienced much shedding or breakage from the actual act of co-washing. I use a condition that instantly detangles my hair. Co-washing has been my saving grace since I exercise so much.

Spill, sis! What conditioner are you talkin' 'bout?

EMJazzy

Happily retired