How to study the Bible?

BobbieDoll

Hi Ladies. I recently started trying to read my bible daily but I came to the conclusion that I need to actually study the Bible to really get to know the Word but when I read I end up reading the same thing over and over again or just flipping until I see a description of the chapter I think will interest me. I really want to know the word but I know I can't do that if I keep reading the same scriptures. Can someone give me some suggestions on how to start studying instead of just reading? Thanks in advance!

Renovating

Hi Bobbiedoll,

I'm not an expert by far, but this is what I do:

1. Always pray before you start and ask God to guide you to the message he has for you. I can't tell you how many times I've done just that and (seemingly randomly) just opened the bible to scriptures that fit my exact situation.

2. Sometimes I just read through the Psalms or Proverbs. Psalms shows me so many examples of how David constantly communicated with God, even when he was afraid, frustrated, sad, and angry. Personally, I think Proverbs hold a lot of wisdom.

3. I have the Aspire Women of Color study bible and it actually makes it a little bit easier. It makes the people in the bible come to life and it also has guided reading sections that directs you to scriptures for modern day situations. (example stress management: learning to say no) So I guess the first thing should be make sure you have a study bible, instead of just a regular bible.

This may be a little long, but I want to give you an example of how it makes the characters come to life. (The following was typed directly from my bible- verbatim. These are not the scriptures, but an example of the women of the bible notes)

Leah
Courage, Resistance, and Struggle