I just had an aha moment!

Prettymetty

Natural/4b/medium-coarse
I’ve always struggled with diy blowouts and silk presses. I found that my strands would still be tangled near the roots and the morning after I always had reverted roots. It was so annoying. Especially since I’m a hair stylist. I was overloading my hair with product and causing buildup. Trying to overcome the coarse, tangled 4b hair caused me to over condition and under shampoo.

A clean scalp and hair is the secret to a long lasting press. Maybe not a secret to y’all, but I’m just realizing it. I’ll attempt a diy press over this 3 day weekend and report back with my findings.

Chicoro

5 Year Shea Anniversary: Started Dec 16th, 2016!
I’ve always struggled with diy blowouts and silk presses. I found that my strands would still be tangled near the roots and the morning after I always had reverted roots. It was so annoying. Especially since I’m a hair stylist. I was overloading my hair with product and causing buildup. Trying to overcome the coarse, tangled 4b hair caused me to over condition and under shampoo.

A clean scalp and hair is the secret to a long lasting press. Maybe not a secret to y’all, but I’m just realizing it. I’ll attempt a diy press over this 3 day weekend and report back with my findings.
Yes! Please come back and let us know what happened!

I found the only thing that works for me is using a pressing comb. Flat irons never give me the look and the long lasting silk press of a straightening comb.

snoop

I don't press my hair now, cause y'all scared me about heat damage, but as a kid my mom would press my hair. Please keep in mind that we didn't have healthy hair practices...

She would wash my hair (I don't think we really had conditioner most times), then she would towel dry it.