I'm A newbie and I need Help (breakage)

Postal

Hello ladies.:wave:

So after stalking for a considerable amount of time, I decided to officially join! I'm relaxed and shoulder length. Shoulder length is the longest I've ever been and I just thought it would nice to be able to grow my hair to APL(one can dream). The only problem is: I have no idea what I'm doing. I've always relied on a stylist and I used to consistently go every two weeks and have her relax my hair every 8 weeks. I moved away from my beloved sylist and I've decided to learn how to do my own hair (yikes!). I've read the relaxed hair stickied threads and perused this forum and other forums at length but I'm still not sure what my hair wants or needs.

So as I'm finger combing my hair and watching my hair fall into the sink, I thought I'd pop on here and introduce myself.

I actually have a specific question, forgive me if it's been answered before but:

Does a bad rollerset cause breakage?

I ask because when I wash my hair, condition, and detangle... I'm not losing that much hair. Then I rollerset and dry. Then I take out my rollers. On some weeks I experience breakage when combing out my hair after a rollerset. I'm wondering if it's because I may not have rolled tight enough. I'm asking your expert opinions.

Thanks for reading!

My Friend

Hello and welcome.

Can you be more specific regarding your regi? What are the names/ brand of the products you use? How often do you use them?

Best guess is you need a protein treatment and apply your relaxers farther apart.

hairmaster

Are you using a heat protection on hair or a setting lotion, rolling hair ends neatly on roller,
how long are you drying and using a hooded dryer?

Postal

Well I'm shampooing once a week now.Almost two weeks ago I got a relaxer. Below I list what I did and my reasoning for why I did what I did. So last weekend I washed my hair I used: