I'm itching to BC. HELP!!!!

tking21

So I've been transitioning for about 13 months now and I'm absolutely itching to BC... I'm actually thinking about doing with in the next 24 ours :rolleyes:.
My question for those who have done a BC is did you do it at home or have it done professionally. If you did do it at home do you regret not getting it done professionally?? What did you think when you first saw your natural hair???? Was length an issue? Just fill me in on absolutely everything. Thanx!:yep:

redecouvert

Congratulations on such a long transition and for committing to it!
I transition a month and a half because i didn't want to fight with the textures..so instead of getting a touch up, i got a cut:lachen:
I started alone, just cutting a tiny bit because for me it was symbolic. All my life, I've been obsessed about long hair so I wanted to do a little bit(about 2%). Then I got it done at the barber.

Many told me that they just did it themselves or ask a friend/family/hubby to do it
When I first saw my natural hair, i almost cried of happiness! As she cut my hair, i felt so FREE!! no more relaxers, treatments, hair breaking constantly...i also felt beautiful. I have a picture in my fotki, the very same day i big chopped..

I did it on friday, of course i had to wash it and man, the feeling of water running through my hair and scalp was p-r-i-c-e-l-e-s-s!
I also touched my hair constantly...

anyways, after 13 months of transitioning, you must have a long length!!
don't worry...just go, take a deep breath and discover your natural texture:grin:

rsmith

I bc on 10-10-08. I did it myself. I transitioned just like you for 13 months. I just could not take the the two textures anymore. So, I divided my hair into 4 sections and cut the perm ends off. I did it on damp hair. I have no regrets. I just have to get use to being neck length now. I am not use to having short hair. I have been wearing a afro puff pony. I do feel liberated. Still learning natural hair.