I'm Thinking Of Colouring My Hair Purple

Superfly Sister

Hi, I've been thinking of colouring my hair purple and I'm looking for some tips.

My hair is completely natural and in good condition. I deep condition once a week. I haven't had a relaxer through it since November 2005. I spend 50% of the time wearing it natural and the other times wearing it straight. It’s about BSL now but I feel like cutting a few inches off. The only time I've coloured my hair is with henna. Other than that I've got no experience with hair dyes at all!

I'm not looking to colour all my hair, just some highlights but I want the colour to POP! I just fancy a change an doing something a bit adventurous (by my standards!)

So some questions.

• How easy is it to look after colour hair?
  • How often do you touch up?
  • Did you colour your own hair or go to a professional?
  • What condition was your hair once you coloured it?
  • What should do in anticipation if colouring my hair?

If there’s anything else you can tell me I’d greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Prudent1

Me too... :look: thinking about doing it later this summer :yep:.
Before I answer your questions, I am natural, mixture of 3b, 3c, and 4a types. I get the urge to color about once a year. My hair takes to coloring very easily.
  • How easy is it to look after colour hair? I think this like everything else will boil down to you knowing your hair. For me weekly DC, re-constructors bi-monthly and heavy protein - every 90 days or so is a must to keep my moisture balance intact.
  • How often do you touch up? The last several colors jobs were placed in ways to allow an ombre or color melt effect so that re-touching was not absolutely necessary. I will likely have the same thing done again. I don't really like to deal with frequent touch-ups.
  • Did you colour your own hair or go to a professional? I usually have it done by a pro b/c of my placement choices.