Introducing Myself! newbie! (please read, long)

Mestiza

Your hair looks great! :drunk: HHG!

pinayprincess

once again, thanks ladies! and feel free to drop any constructive criticism, tips, and experiences in my fotki album!! :D

Cayenne0622

pinayprincess said:
Hey ladies!

I'm a long-time lurker who recently joined the LHCF family, and just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Ranika. I am half asian and half black, and I have 3b-c hair. I pretty muched used conditioner, mousse, and gel until age 18, where I met my black side of the family. My aunt Bridgette owns a hair salon in L.A., right around the corner from my house. She gave me a receptionist job there and ended up flat ironing my hair biweekly. Before I left for college, she used peroxide and cellophane to color my hair. I also dieted (Atkins is a MESS!) End result: my hair fell out. IN CLUMPS! I was a freshman in college who glogged the showers with enough hair to make a phony pony EVERY SINGLE DAY.
I immediately looked to supplements to restore my growth. Horsetail, Biotin, Protein Shakes (yes!), HF37, you name it! But nothing can stop hairfall when you're consuming anywhere between 30-50g of carbs a day for a full year. The true answer to getting my hair back was to add carbs! So I did. And boy did it grow! In addition, I got on a new dietary program of lean protein (chicken, fish, egg whites, turkey, whey) , complex carbs (oatmeal, brown rice, quinoa, millet, 100% whole wheat bread, spelt), and healthy fats (fish oil, flax oil, natural peanut butter, olive oil, etc.)

I found LHCF somewhere along 2004 and kept revisiting, but never joined.