Is it possible to transition while GAINING length?

crazydaze911

Hey ladies:
i was just wondering... i hear alot of pple transitioning without the BC and trimming slowly to maintain their length. Has anyone been able to actually GAIN length while transitioning rather than just maintain? i'm asking b/c i'm really concerned with reaching my goals WHILE i transition and i was speaking to someone about how i keep getting splits every 2 months regardless of how careful i am with my hair, and this person told me i will continue to get them and have to cut until i'm COMPLETELY natural. any thoughts? I've been the same length FOREVER with trims (even b/f transitioning) :ohwell:

Last edited:

loulou82

Yes! It is definitely possible. I was NL last May and now I'm very close to APL. I've been transitioning for 10+ months. Also, SouthernTease is transitioning while gaining length.

You just have to tweak your regimen to accommodate the NG coming in. I pay very close attention to the demarcation like and moisturize often.

TaraDyan

Natural again ... this time for good!
Yes it's definitely possible. I'm transitioning while gaining length too. I got my hair cut last September back to just past shoulder length and I'm past APL now.

crazydaze911

Yes! It is definitely possible. I was NL last May and now I'm very close to APL. I've been transitioning for 10+ months. Also, SouthernTease is transitioning while gaining length.

You just have to tweak your regimen to accommodate the NG coming in. I pay very close attention to the demarcation like and moisturize often.

Thanks for giving me hope! Is your relaxed hair splitting at all? how often do you trim?

loulou82

Thanks for giving me hope! Is your relaxed hair splitting at all? how often do you trim?