Is pure coconut oil supposed to smell like this??

hairIAM

I just used some 100% pure coconut oil that was purchased at an Indian store here in Houston. First of all, the coconut oil is really thick and gritty. But most importantly, it smells like 10 day old bacon grease. This smell is horrible. I put it on right before coming to work, so I had no time to wash it out. So I tried to mask the smell by applying so Giovanni direct. (that didn't help)

I hope I don't make my patients nauseous (I am a nurse). :drool: Maybe I should put on a surgical cap.

I was expecting a nice pleasant coconut smell, but this smells nothing like any part of a coconut. I feel so self-conscious right now, because I smell like old bacon grease.

Is this normal. I know there are lots of you that use pure coconut oil. By the way, this coconut oil is by Vijay and it is in a blue bottle.

StrawberryQueen

No it shouldn't. My coconut oil smells lightly of coconuts. When it's liquid it's smooth and clear, and when it's solid it's slightly thick with "coconut-feeling" pieces in it.

camellia

Definitely not!

Pure coconut oil has a very light coconut smell. It should be solid when cool, but melts very quickly and easily when rubbed between one's palms.

hairIAM

Well I don't know what is wrong with this bottle. I won't be using it anymore. Maybe it is old. Maybe it is used for cooking. I did notice that it had nutition facts on the side of the bottle.

Next time I will be purchasing my own products. I had one of my co-workers (who is of Indian descent) go to the Indian store and buy it for me. Maybe she picked up the wrong one. Who knows. But what I do know is that I won't be putting that stuff back in my head.

Crackers Phinn

Either A Blessing Or A Lesson.