Lye to No Lye...Can I switch?

Wishin4BSL

The last time I had a no lye relaxer was at least 8 years ago and since then, I was wondering if my hair might have gotten used to lye. If you switch to no lye after years of using lye, do you risk underprocessing your hair more than normal? Even if it's a good brand like Mizani?

Niara

Wishin4BSL said:
The last time I had a no lye relaxer was at least 8 years ago and since then, I was wondering if my hair might have gotten used to lye. If you switch to no lye after years of using lye, do you risk underprocessing your hair more than normal? Even if it's a good brand like Mizani?

I would like to know also because I have been using Silk Elements Mild (Lye) and tonight I will be trying ORS relaxer which is No Lye. Pray for me...

Wishin4BSL

Same here Niara. I'm relaxing tonight too. *sending you a prayer* Pray for me too girl, because this is my first time self-relaxing!!!:eek:

sylver2

I switched a couple of times.
First I was Lye for years using Revlon.
Then switched to Creme of Nature-no lye, then switched to creme of Nature-Lye, then switched back to Creme of nature-no lye, then switched to Opitimum-No Lye and thats what I stuck with and been using.

lonei

I switched about a week ago!! I use to use ORS no-lye, and after hearing lye was better for your hair, I switched to motions lye about 2 years ago. That was the worse mistake ever, it underprocessed me badly causing my hair to mat and tangle badly... So anyway, my friend did it for me cos i didnt want to overlap, and it was so gentle, no scabs and bone straight hair which makes it much easier to handle. I have had no problems this week, its just been much easier to handle. When the lye grows out, I wont have to flat iron no more!!!!!!!!!!!! I thought about it so long, but it got to a point where i just had to do it as i couldnt handle it anymore, prayers DO work, I prayed HARD

DDTexlaxed

TRANSITION OVER! 11-22-14