Major Breakage with Rollerset - Help Would Be Much Appreciated

cornell34

I am pretty new to LHCF and the rollersetting thing...I tried one on Sunday and I experienced major breakage (small short hairs), like "I must be going through some thangs" type breakage - it was sorta scary. It is still breaking this morning, but not as much as right after I took my hair out of the curlers.

I washed and deep-conditioned, applied Neutrogena silk touch leave-in and proclaim shine gloss, and I used very very diluted lottabody in a spray bottle to keep my hair wet. I sat under the pibbs for a really long time (1.5 hours) though at pretty high heat (I have a Pibbs 508, the one with only a timer)

What do you all suggest? I am really clueless, but I really want to be a DIYer.

Background: APL, relaxed 4a/b hair, (I am 7 weeks post, but I usually go 12 weeks, trying to go 16 weeks)

Hey Girlie!

It sounds like your hair is dry, brittle, and in desperate need of some protein. When is that last time you had a protein treatment or used protein based products?

Don't fret. I too had the SAME problem when I started rollersetting. My hair was not healthy... at all. Plus it was so short I could barely roll my hair on the rollers. :cry4:

Fragile hair + lots of manipulation (assuming you used a fine tooth comb for smoothing each roller) :nono2: can = DISASTER. Trust me!

Last edited:
:hiya:

Hmmm.... the problem is usually with the products but the leave in and very diluted lottabody seems ok... I don't know much about Proclaim gloss (is it a heat protectant?)

Did you comb your hair after you took out the rollers?
Was your hair very dry when you were done drying (did it feel TOO dry?)?
How tight do you rollerset? Your hair is at its weakest when wet...

Maybe you need some protein.... Hmmm, my first ever rollerset attempt was a disaster, broken hairs EVERYWHERE but I learned from my mistake. Wrong products and too much heat while drying.