Need relaxer help :-(

bigbrowneyez

Hey ladies, this is my first time starting a thread, but i'm really in need of some opinions. I've been relaxed for about 5 years now and i've only used no-lye Precise Ultra mild relaxer. I moved to a different city last year and I told the stylist that Precise Ultra was the relaxer I used and even bought it for her in the beginning. however, later on she said she could buy it, so that i didn't need to bring it anymore. I never see her mix it, but usually if I do happen to see the mixture, its in a regular small mixing cup. the past couple perms, i noticed that there was more of a tingling/burning sensation that i'm not used to with the no-lye, but i just thought she was leaving it on a little too long so told her to rinse. This time (last week) I happened to see the mixture again and it was in an affirm tub, so i asked her and she said it was indeed Affirm. i was so upset, because how dare she switch my relaxer without telling me. I'd been using the same one for years with absolutely no problems and now she just up and changed. AND went from no-lye to lye. I dont know when exactly she switched, but looking back because of the burning i felt, i know its been at least twice. now i'm at a loss for what i should do. this Affirm relaxer got my hair too straight (dont want the bone straight look). but now i'm afraid to switch back to no-lye because I dont know exactly how long she's been using the Affirm, and i dont want any ill effects from switching again. Should I continue with the Affirm, or switch back to no-lye and find another stylist? also, if I choose no-lye option, should I stick with the "box perm" Precise Ultra or go with a salon brand no-lye? i'm so upset ladies, how dare she switch when she told me she would stick the perm i preferred.:sad:

Last edited:

syze6