Newbie here! Need help with regime ...

glamazon386

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie here and wanted to introduce myself. I've been lurking for a while but finally decided to join. I have a few questions though. I've been wearing weaves off and on for the past year in order to grow my hair out. Right now I have a sew in I put in myself with Sensationnel Remi Goddess hair. I am absolutely in love with these curls. :D It seems like I've always had weaves or braids, but really for growth purposes for the past year. It seemed like my hair was at a standstill for a while but I can see now that's it's grown a lot. Especially my bangs, I thought they would never grow out.

I read the Newcomer's guide that's a sticky on the main page, but I'm still confused as to what to do as far as a regime (did i spell that right?). I relax about every 12 weeks with Affirm. I've only been trimming when my hair really needs it. Which has been once or twice in the past year, and only the very end needed to be snipped. I've been using Keracare and Nexxus products, however I don't wash my hair very often. Maybe every 2 weeks. I've been rinsing every few days with this hair to reset the curls. Should I wash more often? Will that make my cornrows unravel? And what kind of products should I be using? I don't want the braids to get a buildup. Can anyone offer any advice? Oh yeah, I'm not totally sure what my hair type is, if that matters. I know that it's thin or fine but I can never figure out which type it is when I look at the strand. :ohwell: It's just weird. TIA ...

Lucia

Welcome newbie, You might want to look up conditioner washes, alot of ladies do this 1-2 x a week so they don't dry out thier hair as much and use shampoo less often.
baggie method helps with dryness and retaining length.
moisterizing is very important, you should check out diff products, Jason, Aubrey organics, kenra, etc...
searches help alot.
good luck and if you need more advice PM me.

Last edited:

*Happily Me*

Hi,