Newbie question- How do you dry rollerset?

Mdmommy99

Hi everyone. I am an LHCF newbie who has been mostly lurking for about 2 months now. I have been natural for nine years. I had locs for 5 years which I cut off 2 years ago.Now my hair is just below sl. I love this site and am learning how to take care of my hair for the first time!:grin:

I have seen a couple places people mention dry rollersetting their hair and just want to know your method. I roller set then flat ironed my hair earlier this week to straighten. Its still really straight but all of my curls are gone and I'm wondering whether a dry set will help put some of them back in without having to use the flat iron again to curl it.

If you have done a dry rollerset, especially if you are natural have you dry rollerset? What types of rollers do you use? Do you use any products during your set?

Taleah2009

Hi Mdmommy99,

I don't dry rollerset, but I do rollerset, I am currently transitioning. I am 12 months post. Anywho, have you tried to pincurl your hair to maintain the curl at night? They should help you to maintain the curl. I personally, rollerset on wet hair, flat iron my roots, and put flexirods in. I re-roll with the flexi rods nightly to maintain the curl.
HTH

Mdmommy99

Thanks, I was thinking maybe flexirods would help. I didn't pincurl at night because I've been pulling it back in a bun for the past couple days.

Chaosbutterfly

Transition Over
Welcome!!

I dry rollerset when my hair looks flat and blah, or when I'm bored and have nothing to do.
I moisturize my hair, put it on purple flexi rods (I use anywhere from two-twelve), and then baggy my whole head overnight. I think the extra moisture from the baggy helps the hair hold the curl a little better.
In the morning, I take off the baggy, let my hair dry completely, and then take out the flexi rods. Depending on how many I used and how long I've left them in, I get nice bump at the ends or lots of curls.