People With Thick Hair Shouldn't Get Kinky Twists?!

Lady S

I was chatting with a coworker the other day and told her I was thinking about getting kinky twists. She said that would be a bad idea, because I have super thick hair and kinky twists don't last long when you have thick hair. My reaction was pretty much o_O Yes, I have concerns about them slipping out, but I'd think that would be more of a risk for people with fine/thin hair. I have very thick, coarse natural hair. But I'm also not an expert in braids and twist extensions, so I wanted to check with you fine ladies before I spend money on a style that may not last too long. Anyone heard or witnessed people with thick hair having problems w/ kinky twists?

claudzie

Strolling with Unicorns
I have thick natural hair and I got kinky twists. I had no problem, yes it lasts a little less than it would if you had relaxed hair but it is not an issue

Lady S

My hair is thick and I can't do twists. The frizz is REAL. They also unravel a bit making the look not look as neat as I would like. I stick to braids, my thick hair can't undo them lol

Were you using Marley hair or that less kinky braiding hair? I'm wondering if it makes a difference.

faithVA

I'm confused. I have so many questions. I have dense hair which is what I think you mean. I've worn kinky twists several times and never had an issue. I've also done my own a few times. My hair is bushy so my twist puff up but that has more to do with the curliness of my hair versus my density.

I think you should try it. Maybe have a consult with your stylist first.

Lady S

I'm confused. I have so many questions. I have dense hair which is what I think you mean. I've worn kinky twists several times and never had an issue. I've also done my own a few times. My hair is bushy so my twist puff up but that has more to do with the curliness of my hair versus my density.

I think you should try it. Maybe have a consult with your stylist first.