Relaxer help...please

Msmia

I have been relaxing my hair for the last 5 years with Silk Elements Regular Lye Relaxer, but now it feels like it is not even smoothing out my new growth. I usually wait 12 weeks or even longer before doing my touch ups. Should move up to Coarse Hair relaxer or switch to a different brand. I know my hair has a tendency to get used to products and they shortly become ineffective for me.

sqzbly1908

I have been relaxing my hair for the last 5 years with Silk Elements Regular Lye Relaxer, but now it feels like it is not even smoothing out my new growth. I usually wait 12 weeks or even longer before doing my touch ups. Should move up to Coarse Hair relaxer or switch to a different brand. I know my hair has a tendency to get used to products and they shortly become ineffective for me.

Hi MsMia!!!

Silk Elements is a good relaxer - it sounds like you are making good progress in the course of this progress your hair is getting thicker. If you are wanting a more bone straight look - maybe you should opt for the coarse relaxer if the regular is not doing the job for you...

Msmia

Thanks. I think I am going to switch to the Coarse version, but I do love Silk Elements relaxer. It is the best relaxer I have ever used.

blasianbeauty

How do you smooth your new growth? For the bone straight look, I always use the back of a fine tooth comb after I apply the relaxer all over first. I would try that first before moving up to the course or super strength.

Msmia

How do you smooth your new growth? For the bone straight look, I always use the back of a fine tooth comb after I apply the relaxer all over first. I would try that first before moving up to the course or super strength.