Shedding more when wet??

Ennyaa

Ok so I've been battling some UGLY shedding for a few months. Some weeks it's better than others but the past few washes I've noticed something kinda weird. When my hair is wet and I'm either finger combing or using a comb it seems I shed ALOT more than after it's dry. I'm pretty sure it's not breakage because the pieces are so long and I see the white bulbs on most of them at least.

I don't really understand this because my hair is certainly more manageable wet than dry but for some reason it feels like it's staying in my head more if I wait till it's dry before manipulating too much.
I especially noticed after this last wash on Friday night before I was braiding my hair this weekend. It seemed like every time I friggin TOUCHED my hair it was coming out. But once I let it air dry and was twisting it up I hardly lost any. Even while I was parting and braiding my hair all weekend it wasn't breaking or coming out and I was using a really small tooth comb sometimes. Anybody have any thoughts on this or am I insane?

Lindy

Personally, I think you're insane.
Just kidding!!

I think you might just be in a shedding phase right now, and it's easier for the hairs to come out when your hair is all wet as opposed to when it's dry.

Ennyaa

Well thanks alot there Lindy! lol My insanity has been confirmed. I figured it was a shedding phase but I just don't know why it happens more when my hair is wet. Ah well. I'm not gonna sweat it too much since I'm braided up now.

adrienne0914

mine has done the same thing lately, which is why i don't comb my hair all week once it's in the bun. i don't want to lose any more hair from taking it down and putting more moisture on it and putting it back up. i also stopped washing more than once a week.

adrienne

Justice4alw