twist out didn't dry out the next day!

firecracker

With this natural hair my daily styles are hit and miss. I am still learning how to care for mine and what works.

I tried something different and the result are encouraging. For the first time since I went natural I used IC gel and the next day it wasn't all dryed out and crunchy. I put in two strand twist with organic twist and loc gel two days ago. I took the twist out, during my shower I immersed my head with water, I towel dried lightly, immediately after I applied the IC gel all over and let it hair dry.
It took more than 5 hours for my hair to dry completely. When I got up this morning my hair is still shiny, texture intact and hella moist.

I was thinking of trying this combination of products to see if I could use it twice a week on my wash n go. I really like the IC gel for locking in my curl pattern after washing but not the dull dryness. I need more product suggestions from ladies with a dry bush.

neeki

Did you do anything to your hair before going to sleep? Retwist, tie it up, etc? I want to try a twist out again, but the last time it only lasted one day.

Deniece

Natural Beauty
neeki said:
Did you do anything to your hair before going to sleep? Retwist, tie it up, etc? I want to try a twist out again, but the last time it only lasted one day.

I wear twistouts 95% of the time... I always retwist at night to keep my definition, moisture & sheen intact

Cheleigh

I wear twists a mininum of four days, which means that my twistouts last three, and I don't need any additional product. I usually shake-n-go, and I've found that using a gel like fantaisa blue makes my hair a little firm the first day, but I get soft hair the second day. If I go gel-less (bohemian routine) I get fantastic first day hair, but cannot duplicate on the second day (I still have curl definition, but less defined). It takes my hair 4-5 hours to dry with no product at all, and about six hours when I add a gel or leave-in.