Undefined Curl Pattern After BC

Zay-neey

Okay I am 5 weeks Post BC
For those 5 weeks i have been in Box Braids. I just took down my braids yesterday

My question is, is it normal to have an undefined curl pattern after BC

I have a curl pattern cuz when i look up close i can see it. but far away it looks like a puff ball??

Is this normal? will my pattern become more defined as it grows?

Some of the Curls are defined, but others arent?
Maybe its cuz i just took out the braids?

I dunno , i need some help
ETA: Thank You All, And Yes it is more Defined Now After it grew out more.

Last edited:

hair_rehab

I did the BC a month ago and I'm still learning how to define my curls. Some days it looks great, other days not so much. I have a mixture of 4a and 4b.

Right now I'm trying not to get too focused on curl definition and just focus on keeping it healthy.

LoveLiLi

I've heard other ladies talk about this experience after a bc. I can relay what was posted, but I transitioned for so long that I skipped over the undefined curl pattern phase.

The ladies said moisturize, then moisturize and then when you're done - moisturize. They said deep conditioning was critical and that once the hair had the hydration it needed, the curls were nice and defined without too much fuss.

I can say that I was ignoring protein treatments every six weeks because I thought that as a natural I didn't need it. Once I started them again my hair looked better overall.

You may need to check your products too. For me, vatika or regular coconut oil is fine and leaves my curls defined, while amla oil takes the bulk out of my hair, but it takes the curl out as well.

Also, how are you combing and styling your hair? If you're manipulating it too much while it's drying then you may be disturbing the curls and creating a fro instead.