wearing braids consistently and keeping your edges....

PittGirl06

Hair product junkie reloaded!
Can it be done? I really want to get me some pencil sized braids to last me a coupel months starting in September, but my hair is starting to thin on one side of my head :( . No, I have not been faithful to the Crown and Glory method when I did have braids this past year and I also was not consistently surging either.....

webby

Think Slim
I'm not a braid expert, but if your hair is already thinning, I'd advice you not to get braids, especially small ones right now.

You may be at risk for alopecia, which is sometimes not reversible.

honeycomb719

I agree, when I wore braids back 2 back, I had major thinning going on, and my edges suffered the worst. Smaller braids are really damaging to my edges. I wouldnt suggest wearing braids consistently. Your hair will need a break from the stres braids put on the hair.
I think w/ braids in conjunction w/ adding products to the braids, that forms those dredded lint/product knots especially around edges, which leads to thinning and balding. Washing just makes it worst IMO :ohwell: .

sassyhair

I would say use an anti-thinning balm or growth agent around your edges during the time you have the braids in. Don't get them if your hairline is already in trouble. Make sure the braids are not too tight, if they are a good way to loosen them is oil and steam, this can be done in the shower.

KathyMay

you should also wait until your edges have thicken up to get braids and "surge" them once you have the braids.

I recommend that you try not to braid that fragile area. Have your stylist braid your hair so that that area is covered.
I've done this and it helps!

tryn2growmyhair