What to do with new growth (??)

ashiah

(I'm a newbie, btw...)

I'm 15 weeks post relaxer and I'm worried over how I'm going to prepare this hair for a relaxer. I can't get a comb through it, there are knots in it....I'm sure if I put a relaxer in it, the constant tugging and pulling will just burn me up.

I've been morturizing the ng and co-washing, but that's about it. After week 7, I realized it was best to just leave the ng alone.

So, stretchers, what have you done to untangle your new growth and prepare it for a relaxer?

maryj1584

The three best things for me are
1. Elucence Moisture Balancing Condtioioner(I get it from here http://www.pleasantimage.com)
2. Wild Growth Oil (I get it from sallys)
3. Jiberie Shower comb. (also get it from sallys)

I wash my hair in 8-10 sections and glob tons of Elucence on it and then detangle slowly in sections, it makes my new growth very managable and the slip is crazy. I use my shower comb to glide thorugh and then I rebraid each section and then rinse and use a little( EMB) as a leave in. I then detagle again slowly and put some wild growth oil on the NG. Then rollerset and flat iron the NG only. I hope this helps bc this has really made streaching easier for me.

ashiah

Thanks for the suggestion. Now I know why people transition. I'm kind of afraid to go back to relaxers. :lol:

*Happily Me*

Welcome Ashiah :wave:

Keep your hair moisturized. I like Lekair for detangling.

If you want your new growth to lay flat, tie a scarf on while air drying. This works wonders for me.

:)

ashiah