Why did they even MAKE the product then?

krikit96

If greasing your scalp is supposed to be all bad for you, then why did they even BOTHER making scalp grease? I don't understand? Maybe it isn't good to block your pores with the thick heavy Blue grease or the Green grease, but it has to be beneficial SOMEHOW, right?:ohwell:

I gave myself a touch-up Sunday, and I feel like my scalp is getting dry by Wednesday... but my style is so cute and still lasting that I'm trying to hold it til Saturday at LEAST!

Since Joining LHCF a few weeks ago, I haven't used any grease on my scalp because I THOUGHT I was learning some stuff isn't good for your hair and isn't condusive to long hair growth. Somebody please tell me what the deal is???:wallbash:

Hello :) I'm a newbie so this is my lil ol advice. Maybe try using the castor oil hair grease. I think its made by Hollywood beauty or something like that. its in a green and white container. It doesn't have any mineral oil or petroleum in it and it is very light but it does the same thing as the old school blue or green grease. my favorite is the Burnt sugar pomade by Oyin hand made. A little goes a long way and it smells so good!!!. I find that if i DC regularly I don't have to put as much product on my scalp. I still like to add a little to my scalp if it feels dry but I don't know if other would recommend using any grease. Its working for me so far though. Hope this helps:wave:

texasbeautysupplycom_2018_83258068
burntsugar.jpg

Last edited:
What works for some doesn't work for others. I never rule out grease. I grew up with my mom using Dax (a majority of the time) and then Sulfur 8. I've always had long hair. Since being on the hair board I've used the Sulfur 8 off and on, and never had a problem.

Some swear by not using hair grease...others say it's the only thing that works to keep their scalp from getting itchy and dry.