Best Braids to Maintain New Length

moneychaser

Hello,
I plan on getting braids in a few weeks. I have read several horror stories on this board and I am really scared
. Can you please recommend a style of braid you had that didn't result in the following:
<ul type="square">
[*] Didn't break your edges off!
[*]Was easy to take out.
[*]Didn't tangle your hair once out.
[*]Was able to maintain your new growth.
[/list]

miss_brown

I tried cornrows for the first time last fall, and they are definitely a keeper.
1. They were cheaper than other, more elaborate braid styles.

2. They were quick to put in AND take out (including the detangling time).

3. They left my edges in tact (which is more than I can say for those micros I used to wear).

I had two rows, the one on top was slanted. I thought they were very cute, but they may not be the most professional for your work environment (I'm a grad student, so that wasn't a factor for me). HTH

Nonie

I am still a huge fan of micros coz you can style them in various ways. (I bore easily.) And because I do them myself and ensure I use as little hair per braid as I can get away with, there's less strain exerted per square millimeter on my scalp =&gt; no breakage. But I also found a way to reduce strain further along my edges... even though I didn't have breakage. (Better safe than sorry.) Just as Miss Brown stated: cornrows. So now I do mini-cornrows going back along my hairline then micros everywhere else. I just blend the ends of my mini cornrows in with the braids. This is how it looks:

I have been wearing this look since October and have gotten compliments on the "new" do. I think SweetNic is doing something similar.

miss_brown

I wore individuals for a while too, but I didn't like them because the braider would part too small and then attach like an ounce of synthetic hair to 5 strands of my own, which ultimately equalled breakage.