Beyond Shoulder Length

PraiseAngel

Hello ladies, I'm not a newbie to the forum but I'm to posting. I would like to know from those who are natural and past shoulder length how long did it take you to go from shoulder length to armpit length? I seem to be stuck at this stage shoulder length for the past couple of years. Granted its only been within the past year I have been taking care of my hair although I have been natural for 5 years now. Thanx.

MyAngelEyez~C~U

It's looking like it's gonna be about ten months for me. Made SL around March 2011, and I'm about an inch from APL in the back.

Last edited:

PraiseAngel

Thanks AngelEyez, it just seem to be taking so long for my natural hair to go past shoulder but straightened it about armpit length.

naturalTAN

It took me 8 months, but you should really just measure yourself and estimate by how much growth you get monthly including trims to determine how long it will take.

Nonie

OP, shoulder length could last a few months. Shoulders slant as I show in the image below. Shoulder Length starts right at the point you leave neck length and you're still at shoulder length when at collarbone because shoulders slant.

Also the question "how long does it take to get past it?" is sorta hard to answer because assuming that hair is growing all the time, tomorrow could be the day when you get past CBL by a fraction of an inch. So would you say it took one day? Two days? A week? Getting past is not the issue. It's actually getting from point A to B that might be easier to assess.

A better question would be "How long did it take you to go from SL to APL?" and for that question, this thread has some answers: http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=479052

greenandchic