braiding videos: do they really help?

PittGirl06

Hair product junkie reloaded!
I was thinking about buying one of those braiding videos. I have absolutely NO idea how to braid AT ALL. Are these videos good for complete newbies like myself?

Also, are they better at teaching you how to braid someone else's hair or how to do your OWN hair.

Also, are there any videos that teach how to do other natural styles yourself? Like twists and stuff like that?

Lastly, any particular videos you care to reccomend? Of course by "video" I really mean DVD cuz I don't have a vcr!! :grin:

OnPoint

I brought the hair braiding video from robin woods the hair lady. I learned how to do individual box braids. I can do it on myself and on my friends hair. I would recommend that you get a video.

THT

L

LaNecia

I purchased the Braids by Breslin (4 Hairstyles in One and Cornrow Compilation) videos. I found these to be very helpful to me in doing my own hair.

dontspeakdefeat

Hair Coach
I bought the Braids by Breslin DVD and it was very helpful. It has 4 styles on one dvd. She repeats the process over and over again and shows you how to do full styles. I am very pleased with my purchase of this braid dvd.

amazin9

I too bought Braids by Breslin and it was extremely helpful. I have cornrows with a bun in the back right now! I learned it from this DVD. This was money well spent!:woot:

caligirl2385

OnPoint said:
I brought the hair braiding video from robin woods the hair lady. I learned how to do individual box braids. I can do it on myself and on my friends hair. I would recommend that you get a video.

THT

i learned how to plait w/ extensions from her video too.

mahoganee

I just recently got braids by breslin but haven't watched yet. I used to cornrow my hair and my sisters' hair as a kid so I'm hoping that I'll be able to learn from the dvds.
Here's a couple of pictures of box braids.

hottopic