Did anyone ever try Pokahontas' Banding Method

lonei

She kindly just told me about it as Im trying to find quicker ways to dry my hair with maximum straightness under the dryer and then flat iron afterwards. Did any of you try it? What were your results? Did you use rubber bands or hair bands? How long did it take? Did you flat iron afterwards? Thanks...

ajargon02

I am a natural, so I don't know how helpful I will be. I have been banding for several years now. It works wonders. My hair looks as if it's been blowdried, when it's fully dry. I will either band or I will do 6-8 flat twists to air dry my hair. I love this method. It's a lot less stress then the blow dryer!

lonei

ajargon02 said:
I am a natural, so I don't know how helpful I will be. I have been banding for several years now. It works wonders. My hair looks as if it's been blowdried, when it's fully dry. I will either band or I will do 6-8 flat twists to air dry my hair. I love this method. It's a lot less stress then the blow dryer!

Thanks, well if it can make natural hair appear staright then it should work wonders for this underpocessed mess! Please describe in huge detail the steps you take from after you have conditioned your hair, thanks a bunch!

lonei

stilettos said:
sorry but whats banding?

Look in Pokahontas' natural folder in her fotki and there are photos that say 'banding/airdrying', it has pics, I also bumped up another thread for you called 'Another way to Airdry'

Ms Lala

I have banded my natural hair to airdry and it works well. I have flat ironed afterwards and it gets myhair straight so it would probably work wonders on relaxed hair. I have to use a small tooth comb(especially on the ends) while flat ironing though because the hair isn't as straight as it would be from blow dryihng.

ajargon02

lonei said: