Does Breakage = Damaged?

FlawedBeauty

ok i was wondering if breakage necessarily means your hair is damaged. i know y i have breakage -- albeit it had been cut back like 90% -- and it is because my hair is so fragile and has a hard time retaining moisture making it brittle.

i ask this because i don't want to make the mistake of possible using the wrong poo's and condish. i don't know if i should be using something for damaged hair vs. stuff for fine hair since my hair is very fine and brittle. i dont get splits or anything anymore so i'm not sure my hair is damaged. i don't think that hair that has a hard time holding moisture = damaged hair as most curly heads have moisture issues. any thoughts on this apprecieated :)

Aveena

I'm not an expert but if you turn it around the question could be "Does healthy hair break?" My answer to that question would be... not unless it was under a LOT of physical stress. Otherwise no.

So, I think that if hair is breaking in non stressful situations it maybe damaged :confused:.

CurliDiva

I am not sure what you are asking, but breakage - meaning hairs are breaking off vs natural shredding is never a good thing. If a hair is naturally shred - there should be the white bulb at the end.

Breakage could mean that you need more moisture, protien, or just gentler handling or styling.

Try reading the Hair Breakage 101 thread posted by Sticky, which does an excellent job explaining how to recognize and halt damage.

Using a shampoo/condition marked for damagaed hair is not a cure - if the contents are not what your hair needs or your breakage is being caused by styling.

Good luck, CD

mkstar826

supersonic
CurliDiva said:
Breakage could mean that you need more moisture, protien, or just gentler handling or styling.

ITA.