Does your hair change color towards the ends?

jayjaycurlz

Hi Newbie Here!

I went for my 9-week stretch touch-up on Thursday and my stylists says, 'Your hair is very red towards the ends and looks dry. I'm going to cut some of it off.' Before my touch-up my hair was about an 1" to APL (I'm texlaxed). When she finished, she had cut my hair to shoulder length. In the 3 months since joining this board I've been really caring for my hair so I was shocked at her statement. Here's what I've been doing:

I co-wash every other day with Nexxus Humetress or Hello Hydration
I DC with ORS Mayo twice a week (I usually pre-poo with alma & EVOO and shampoo with JASON's Biotin Shampoo or Design Essentials Moisturizing Shampoo before I DC)
I do Aphogee treatments every 6 weeks
I use Shea Butter, ORS carot oil or s-curl to moisturize my hair
I seal with Vatika, EVOO, Coconut or sweet Almond oil
I use the blue Fantasia IC gel, Noodlehead, Actisilk or Blended Beauty products for curl definition

I thought my hair was in the best shape! I expected her to 'trim' maybe 1/4" off but NOT 1"! My hair grows VERY slowly and always seems to change to a redder brown towards the ends. I know this is not due to her overprocessing me at my touch-ups as she is VERY meticulous when it comes that and only does the new growth.

Just note, my hair was breaking off faster than it was growing BEFORE I started this regimine and now I have little to no breakage but a lot of split, dry, light brown ends according to my stylist.

Does anyone else's hair change to a lighter color at the ends naturally and their hair is NOT dry? Or, does this truly indicate dry hair as she claims? If so, what I am doing wrong in my regimine? I don't want to BC, should I protective style more (wear braids for the next few months)? I love to wear my hair out - it's really curly! I need help, any suggestions to curb this dryness or what I should change in my regimine?

Thanks!
jay :)

Last edited:

antisocial