Help please? Need suggestions for managing my hair on a cruise

msmishka

Hi :) I'm a total newbie to this particular forum, but I know that you gals know your hair. I apologize now for the length of the post, but I want to give you as much detail as needed.
I have chemically relaxed hair (I am mixed, so it's an interesting texture), with highlights (the processes are well spaced out). My hair is pretty resilient and handles the treatments. I get it roller set once a week (which is when it gets washed), so it usually doesn't have to deal with any heat damage.

I am going on a 7 day cruise in July, and I need to figure out how to style/manage my hair. Letting it dry naturally is NOT an option. It is just...lank and wiry(and kind of frizzy at the bottom). I'd show you pictures, but I refuse to document that hair. I will have it set 3 times on the cruise (for formal nights and disembarkment), but the rest of the time, I'd like manageable hair.

Here are pictures of how it usually looks:

Tired face, but shows the cut (the bangs are usually much fuller than this and cover the forehead more):

Shows condition of hair:

I've looked into the Kerastase Oleo Relax serum as a possible purchase to make it manageable, and I already have BB Surf Spray. My stylist suggested using velcro rollers after flat ironing my hair.
My flat iron is only a Conair Wet/Dry iron with digital settings (I never invested in an expensive one because I only use it when I get caught in the rain or have to go on a trip).

Are there other suggestions that you might have(products/tools)? I really want to keep some of the volume in my bangs, because I hate pulling them back, and, well, actually - I haven't actively worn ponytails in years - so down or twisted up is a good option for me.

Thanks in advance,
Michelle

Last edited:

LongHairDreams