How do I use a Reconstructor after a relaxer???

janiebaby

Hi, I'm a newbie. I've seen many different things about using a reconstructor after a relaxer before neutralizing while some prefer to wait two weeks before/after a relaxer. I have Joico KPak and used it once last week after a shampoo and before a deep conditioner and I noticed a little less breakage but not a significant change. My hair is breaking off pretty badly and I would like to try Joico again because it was expensive and I don't feel like trying anything else. Would it be possible to use it before a neutralizer? Or should I use it after neutralizing? Or should I wait a week or two after I relax?

I use my reconstructor (Affirm 5-1) immediately after I rinse out the creme relaxer. Afterward, I wash with the neutralizer and condition.

I was very leery of doing this at first, but now I won't do it any other way because I realize that my hair is stronger when I do this sequence:up:

It is my understanding that the reconstructor aids in restoring your hair's Ph balance also:wink2:

nicki6 said:
I use my reconstructor (Affirm 5-1) immediately after I rinse out the creme relaxer. Afterward, I wash with the neutralizer and condition.

I was very leery of doing this at first, but now I won't do it any other way because I realize that my hair is stronger when I do this sequence:up:

It is my understanding that the reconstructor aids in restoring your hair's Ph balance also:wink2:

your hair is lovely, it looks so healthy ;)

But the thing I don't understand is...when you just rinse the relaxer with water...then apply a reconstructor...isn't the relaxer still processing on your hair?

See, I'm texlaxed and when I say I put that relaxer in and take it out in 5 minutes flat I mean it. I don't want that relaxer processing my hair longer than 5 minutes. In this way I avoid burning, relaxing straight, and overprocessing.