How do you straighten your hair....

What is your preferred method for straightening your hair?

• Rollerset and silk wrap

Votes: 15 13.3%
  • Rollerset and flat iron

Votes: 14 12.4%
  • Blow dry and silk wrap

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Blow dry and flat iron

Votes: 52 46.0%
  • Air dry and silk wrap

Votes: 4 3.5%
  • Air dy and flat iron

Votes: 23 20.4%
  • Other

Votes: 5 4.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

jasminea

I am a newbie relaxed head who has been wearing a lot of curly styles over the last 6 months but want to do some straight styles for holiday parties and other upcoming family events.

I would love some feedback on how everyone straightens their hair. I am a recovering heat junkie and have been leary about using my flat iron again. I see a lot of ladies on youtube doing silk/saran wraps after rollersets but have not read very much about it on this board.

Does anyone on the board still do silk wraps and if so what products do you put on your hair to wrap?

Also for those who prefer to flat iron, which flat iron do you use, what products do you use to protect your hair?

Thanks for any replies!

jasminea

I'm natural. I blow dry then flat iron when I want to wear my hair straight

May I ask what products you use as a leave-in and heat protector? I use Rusk Sensories as my normal leave-in and i think it would be too thick to try to flat iron after. Afraid the iron might stick to my hair and burn it! :look:

Aggie

How about a wrap. Check out some youtube videos. Macherieamour has a really good one on YT.

Chaosbutterfly

Transition Over
I'm relaxed too. I accidentally answered that I rollerset and flat iron. I've rollerset and flat ironed my hair once, and prefer the look of that, but my hair does better with the rollersetting and silk wrapping.

I rollerset my hair with diluted lottabody, HE LTR Leave-In, and I use a little bit of vatika and castor oil to seal in the moisture and give my hair shine.