How to Maintain Length w/ Color?

Super_Hero_Girl

Hello Everyone,
I'm a long time lurker turned and former poster turned new poster. I have been without relaxers for 3 years, yet I get my hair dyed about 2-3 times a year at a salon. I believed that my hair was healthy for a while and I have taken care of it to the best of my knowledge. I decided to stretch my color out longer, due to funds and lazyness (I'm a broke college student) and I have noticed that in many spots my new growth is longer than the length of my colored hair, particularly in the back. I think if my hair grows this much in 6 months then it should be a lot longer. This has me worried. Three years worth of hair should be a lot longer than 6 months worth (I last colored in March). The dye is the only thing that I think could be wrong. I would like to keep my hair dyed and I would also like for it to grow longer and maintain the length. I know it's growing. I just can't keep the length. I don't have a strict regimine, but I condition wash my hair on a regular basis and keep it moisturized. I would appreciate any and all suggestions. Please help. I know maintaining length and color is possible. Anyone doing this? Anyone with advice. Thanks in advance. :)

***I just upload a pic to explain what I'm talking about. You can see the difference in the twist that I'm holding and a lot in the twist behind it. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/naturalstarlet/IM000951.jpg

Last edited:

wyldcurlz

bumping for some responses, i'm curious about how to maintain healthy, colored hair.

also, there was a thread called For Colored Girls or something like that a while ago, you might want to search the archives for that post.

Lovelylocs

hmmm... do u use a deep conditioner that is formulated for colortreated hair? Does ur hair feel dried out?