I can't Stretch longer than 8 weeks!!

msjones

So everything was going fine, until this week (9th week). My hair is breaking off like crazy...and my scalp actually hurts (I haven't been combing, so I dont understand this). This is my first time stretching so 8 weeks is good (i used to do it every 4 weeks before joining LHCF!:nono:). Maybe I'll just relax this weekend and try to stretch longer the next time. Has a gradual stretch been easier for you guys? Or is just going from about 4 weeks to like 3 months doable?:spinning:

Tiffchelle22

It is probably best to do gradual stretching. Going from a 1 month to 3 month stretch is kinda drastic, IMHO. I've read on here that the best way is to gradually increase your stretch by one week every time you relax.

Also, on the relaxer stretching support group thread, there is a good deal of information on products and techniques to help you through the stretch so that you minimize breakage.

Just take it one step at a time, and I'm sure you will find it gets easier with time and patience.

~*~ShopAholic~*~

Well atleast you made it to wk 9 this time around. Try adding an additional wk each stretch that way you can baby step your way into stretching. You may also need to look into other ways of styling your hair or different Dcners when you get further into your stretch. You would be amazed at what certain DC can do to 10 wks + NG, what are some of the products you use during your stretch?

I know that Silicone Mix, Praital (purple on) and Alopecil Apratendora makes my NG react like my already relaxed ends, so when I get 10wks + in my stretches I only one of the three.

Treasure2k6