I want to make my texlaxed hair straighter...how..

myronnie

So some background on my hair: It's very thick texlaxed waistlength when straightened.
I'm getting a little overwhelmed with the thickness of my hair and whenever I wash it I always have to straighten it to be able to style it because it's so thick that it breaks the ponytail holders!!
I've been texlaxing with ORS NO-lye for a couple years (using castor oil in the relaxer) and I really want to stop texlaxing and make my hair straighter. The ends of my hair are straight because they aren't texlaxed but the rest of my hair is verrrry poofy and pretty much an afro.
Would it be possible to re-relax the rest of my hair for a short time without damaging it? How should I do this without damaging my hair?

davisbr88

I hope someone answers!
I just came in because I am trying to learn more about texlaxing since I don't understand it, but I'm posting to tell you that your siggy pic is freakin adorable! And your hair looks very lovely.

Your Cheeziness

I'm sure you "can", but I wouldn't. I would go to a professional to do that since your ends are straighter than the rest of your hair. If you choose to do it yourself, I'd definitely do it in small, controllable sections.

EllePixie

I can't speak from personal experience, but in my research I've learn that if you double process the hair you have to be absolutely sure you're using the same chemicals. Like, if you use a lye relaxer over no-lye, that would be very bad. Sorry I'm not more help, I hope someone else chimes in. I have seen people go over a tex though throughout their length.

kandiekj100

bumping for you OP. Natural here, and even when relaxed, I was on the HHJ, so I don't know the best way to go about doing this. Maybe there is another telax to relax lady than can help.

havilland

Magical Mythical Princess
you need to use the same product. that's for sure. do not go for a different brand or a lye relaxer. you will kill your hair.