Is Flat Ironing Relaxed Hair Harmful?

Mandy4610

I AM THINKING OF BUYING A FLAT IRON, COULD YOU LADIES PLEASE TELL ME IF IT WOULD BE HARMFUL FOR ME TO FLAT IRON MY RELAXED HAIR? I HAVE ZERO EXPERIENCE WITH FLAT IRONS. TIA

MizzBrown

Re: IS FLAT IRONING RELAXED HAIR HARMFUL??

If you breathe its harmful Mandy..LOL....get a flat iron. Don't overdo it, keep the right heat setting so u dont singe/damage your hair and use a heat protectant. Moderation is key..whether relaxed or natural.

Je Ne Sais Quoi

No, for the average user that uses heat appliances appropriately it will not be harmful. Just don't overdo it!!!!

Mandy4610

If you breathe its harmful Mandy..LOL....get a flat iron. Don't overdo it, keep the right heat setting so u dont singe/damage your hair and use a heat protectant. Moderation is key..whether relaxed or natural.
THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!PLEASE SUGGEST SOME GOOD HEAT PROTECTANTS:grin:

TaurusAngel

Yeah, i don't think its harmful. But like they said, just in moderation and using protectants. And I would get a ceramic iron.

Dposh167

Yeah, i don't think its harmful. But like they said, just in moderation and using protectants. And I would get a ceramic iron.

i completely agree. Don't get cheap with flat irons! just cuz they say ceramic doesn't mean the entire plate is. It could just be a ceramic finish on top. sometimes that finish can rub off and expose the cruddy non-ceramic plate. then u have to throw it away and get a new one. (i've learned this the hard way). true ceramic-tourmaline or better is what i suggest.

as for heat protectant, i use ion heat protectant. it's a spray

Mook's hair

I like Silk infusion by chi. and via natural cermaic enhancing products

Chi Silk Infusion is my Favorite! I love the result.

My hair does not respond well to any of the moist heat protectants. (sprays or creams). Silicones /silk are the best protectants for me.

br0wney3z