My 1st time trying henna...

cocomama

I have been toying with using henna to dye my hair for many moons now. So after much prayer and fasting(LOL), I finally worked up enough nerve to try LUSH Caca Noir Mama. The Caca Noir makes the hair black because Indigo as well as other ingredients like coco butter are mixed in this thick henna bar. I wanted my hair super duper black. so after doing a lot of research I decided to put in Indigo immediately after applying my Lush Henna Caca Noir Mama bar. This step ensures that I would get the blackest color possible.

What I used:
Lush Henna Caca Noir
Indigo
*CMC powder (optional)
Distilled Water

The Process:

You will first need to apply a Henna application. I decided to use Lush Henna because I'm a novice to the Henna world and didn't want too many trial and errors with color in my hair.

1. I grated 3 Lush Henna Caca Noir bars into a powdery fine grain. My hair is right above APL and 3 bars were enough for me. I think that by taking the time to grate the Lush Henna into a powdery texture actually was the reason I was able to get away with just using 3 bars instead of the whole bar. Even though doing this was time consuming it will save you money in the long run.

2. Add the grated lush henna powder to a glass bowl than place it in a pot of water. I only filled my pot half way. This kept the water from spilling into my Henna mixture.

3. Slowly pour in distilled warm/hot water while stirring. You want to get a thick consistency...similiar to brownie mix. As you can see mine came out more like yogurt, because I added to much water too fast. So make sure to only add a little at a time to achieve a thick green mixture.