Naturals Who Wear Two-Strand Twists...

davisbr88

I want to twist my hair up to wear under my wig and I would like it to possibly last about a week and a half. Should I do them wet or dry? Should I use a butter or gel? If you have worn your twists for over a week, have you had any problems with matting, damage, etc?
TIA!

ETA: Also, should I clarify before putting the twists in since I won't be washing for 2 weeks (if I can make it!)

kmn1980

Emoticons don't affect me
I do mine wet, no gel, no butter.

I am a twister from waaaay back, LOL! Never had a problem with matting nor damage but I do keep them moisturized. I only clarify every couple of months because I do so little to my hair and don't really use a lot of product.

davisbr88

^^ Wow. No butters or gels? How long do they usually last?
I'm new to the twisting thing so I'm trying to soak up every detail!

Nasdaq_Diva

If they are going to be worn under a wig the entire time anyway, I wouldn't use any products either. I wear my twists up to 2 weeks (under or no wig) at a time. The front of my hairline is the oddest texture, so they look rough after a few days regardless of product.

davisbr88

If they are going to be worn under a wig the entire time anyway, I wouldn't use any products either. I wear my twists up to 2 weeks (under or no wig) at a time. The front of my hairline is the oddest texture, so they look rough after a few days regardless of product.

Do you do them wet or dry? I wasn't asking about products so they would be well-kept, I just thought they wouldn't last 2 weeks without a product. I'm still learning! :grin:

kmn1980

Emoticons don't affect me
^^ Wow. No butters or gels? How long do they usually last?
I'm new to the twisting thing so I'm trying to soak up every detail!

Until I take them down, which is usually in the 10-12 days range.

ETA: I do use a thick and creamy leave-in though like Mane and Tail or Eluence.

Nasdaq_Diva