Need Advice: Which is less damaging?

My hair is in need of a trim or an aggressive dusting badly! I have been on a personal no heat challenge for about 3 months now, and I am going back to school next week. I was wondering which would be less damaging for my hair....

A) Blowdrying my hair on the lowest setting focusing on my roots; (with heat protection) then heavy dusting and back into twists

or

B) Airdrying then flat ironing my own hair (which I have never done before) to then trim or dust??

Please help me!

sweetgal

Hey girl.. Don't hold me to anything:lol:. You have nice hair by the way!

It really depends on how you do it! I think if you flat iron your hair is more damaging (at least it is for my hair) A few days after I flat iron I see little hairs all over. It also depends on the flat iron that you own. Mine claimes to be ceramic, ionic Blah blah blah...but it's still heat!

Blow drying can also be damaging too, but maybe you can towel dry real well, air dry a bit and then dry the rest on a cool setting....it takes longer but it's far less damaging than the hot or warm setting, and you hair will be softer too! I guess its something to think about...

ThickHair

How do you wear your hair? If you blow dry it all the time then blow dry and cut. If you flat iron, flat iron then cut. Both of them are heat so, to me it doesn't matter.

Lucie

Dancin' on sunshine!
Flat ironing is more damaging because you ironing your hair. Blowdrying is less damaging. Be blessed :p

KiniKakes

Is it possible to avoid both? Perhaps you can just roller set your hair.... and then blow out the roots only (to get the curler dent out). That way, you are using only indirect heat on the length, and direct heat on the roots.

bajanplums1