New Swim Lessons: Pre/Post Hair Care Prep

PaperClip

Good day, all....

I start swimming lessons next week (second time around! I'm not giving up!) and I'd appreciate some tips on how to take care of my hair before, during and after the lesson/pool time. I plan to wear a swim cap. I just BC'd about a month ago and I'm still learning re. styling, so I do not have a regular range of styles just yet.

The lessons start at noon on Saturday, so I do not have to be concerned about "glamming up" before or after the lesson. I will go to the rec center from home my plan is, after the lesson, to go to the library to study (I'm pretty sure I can shower, dress, etc.).

I already have a range of shampoos and conditioners to use, but if there's a serious recommendation, I'm willing to invest to ensure that my hair will be well-protected.

Thanks in advance.

dicapr

Be careful of the swim cap! I'm relaxed, so it might be different for a natural, but it caused breakage at my hairline. I would recommend daily rinsing and conditioning and shampooing weekly.

UmSumayyah

Pre-wet and put conditioner in your hair pre-swim. That will help prevent hair (any that escapes, or sometimes gets wet on the edges) from soaking up lots of chlorine.

gymfreak336

UmSumayyah said:
Pre-wet and put conditioner in your hair pre-swim. That will help prevent hair (any that escapes, or sometimes gets wet on the edges) from soaking up lots of chlorine.

ditto; really works

ubavka123