Newbie Hair Emergency

jaxkat

Hi ladies

I am a newbie who has lurked for so long browsing/reading this forum I decided to subscribe so that I could have access to everythioard. I have gained a knowledge of information on everything from hair care to skin care on this board, however I am so :wallbash: and at my wits end that Idk what to do..

My hair has started to thin from the bottom up and in the middle of my head only. I have no idea of what is causing this nor do I know when it started as I have had my hair in braids for the two months. It itches and I do scratch it alot in this area and maybe that could be the cause of it.

Idk rather to consult with a derm that maybe specializes in AA hair or just cut it off from the thinning area and just start over.

You can see the difference by looking at my pictures

Here is my hair a couple of months ago

Here is my hair after taking out my braids yesterday:nono: The only thing that I did after taking out my braids was condition and shampoo

Anyone have any ideas/suggestions on what I can do to correct this

poookie

first of all, welcome to the board!!!!!

couple of questions for ya.

i can tell that, from the difference between pic 1 and pic 2, your hair has grown a lot. your color seems to have moved down a bit... but something seems to be wrong with your retention rate.

1. what kind of braids were you wearing? micros, individuals, box braids, cornrows?? if they were the kind where your real hair was poking out, that may have been the cause of your setback. the same thing happened to me 2 years ago when i'd get individual braids. my hair would be left out in the ends, and i didn't know how to care for my hair while it was in braids, and my ends would look broken off and frizzy.

2. can you describe how you handle your hair in a typical week? or in this case, what you did after you took the braids out?

did you use a comb to comb out the hair extensions, or your fingers?