Please Help - Air Drying Breakage

Researching

I have APL hair and just started a journey toward braw strap last Friday. Having a terrible start. Decided to try all the things you ladies have been doing that I have never done before...cowashing, air drying hair with braid out, protein treatment,leave ins, oiling and bunning. I have never done any of those things before. Last Friday I was sooo excited to get started. I cowashed - loved it...hair sooo soft.:yep: Then I did Afogee 2 min and loved it....hair even softer. :yep: Then I put Komaza coconut curl spray for a leave in and a little organic extra virgin coconut oil. I braided my wet hair into 6 braids and was horrified the next morning when I took out my braids. My hair felt like hay it was so dry and that's no exageration. It felt dead. I have been drenching my hair in oil for the last three days and my hair still feels hard. :wallbash: I have not been combing only fingering and have witnessed about 30 broken hairs in my sink. I'm soo upset my stomach hurts. :nono: I only wanted to grow my hair longer....not lose hair to breakage. It's Monday and my hair is getting softer but I had about 10 broken hairs today. I don't know what to do. Right now I just want to go back to my old habits of blowdrying and be satified with APL, but keep telling myself that it's too early to quit. I need advice. I want to air dry because I know it will be healthier and grow longer, but I'm terrified of getting the same results and more breakage. I also don't know what I'm going to do come Friday when it is time for me to wash my hair because if I don't comb my hair out it will mat and knot horribly when washing and when my hair mats and knots during washing I have to cut the mats out...had that happen to me before. But, if I comb my hair I will get more breakage. I'm so disappointed. I spent a lot of time researching only to be setback from the start.:wallbash: Somebody please help.

blessedandlucky