Protective Hairstyles -- Help!!!

MissYocairis

Hi Ladies. I'm a proud newbie. I love this site. Don't have my pics up but bear with me. In the meantime...HOW, WHAT, WHERE are the protective hairstyles and any tips pertaining to them. I am looking for ideas on protective hairstyles as well as how often one should wear protective hairstyles in the winter vs summer, etc. Also, is a sew-in weave considered a protective hairstyle? And, lastly, has anyone tried the Crown & Glory braid method as a protective hairstyle and what was your experience? Which braid styles are bad and which are good? Can I just wear a bun all winter and help my hair grow? HELP! :D

MomofThreeBoys

CantBeCopied said:
Hi Ladies. I'm a proud newbie. I love this site. Don't have my pics up but bear with me. In the meantime...HOW, WHAT, WHERE are the protective hairstyles and any tips pertaining to them. I am looking for ideas on protective hairstyles as well as how often one should wear protective hairstyles in the winter vs summer, etc. Also, is a sew-in weave considered a protective hairstyle? And, lastly, has anyone tried the Crown & Glory braid method as a protective hairstyle and what was your experience? Which braid styles are bad and which are good? Can I just wear a bun all winter and help my hair grow? HELP! :D

Southergirl and Dontspeakdefeat have protective styles in their albums. I also have a few in my album as well. Yes, a sew in is considered a protective hairstyle. In my opinion, micros are horrible for your hair. Box braids, tree braids, and cornrows can be very healthy if properly cared for. Buns are another good protective hair style! I like to wear my buns with a phony pony on top!:D

Sweet_Ambrosia

MotownGirl has a great guide on how to's including the protective styles you've mentioned. http://www.motowngirl.com/how_to.htm