Question for all self relaxers

CheerBear

Which brand(s) of no lye relaxers have you found to be the least drying and damaging?
Which lye based relaxers are safest to use at home?
By the way, I'm a 4b,with extra thick *natural* hair so I need something that will straighten effectively.

kjames001

Hi there. I currently use Gentle Treatment No Lye. However, since being amember I have read that no lyes are drying no matter which ones u use so I am considering using a lye with my next relaxer.

aqualung

[ QUOTE ]
CheerBear said:
Which lye based relaxers are safest to use at home?

[/ QUOTE ]

Tracy and I both UNDERprocessed with PCJ lye. Maybe it's a little too mild? I'm going to try it again in a couple months, but combing through the new growth and leaving it in for 15-17 minutes.

jainygirl

i use Revlon Realistic Professional (lye) Regular relaxer and it works really well for me
i've been using it for about 5 years now.

ladieluv

I was also going to suggent a *lye* relaxer. I am also natural, but from what I read and researched, lye relaxers seem better for the hair.

localhost

I also use Revlon Realistic Lye in Regular and it's pretty good. *Supposedly*, it has a lower amount of sodium hydroxide (lye) than the other lye relaxers, making it less damaging.

CheerBear

Ok for clarification, my hair isn't really natural, i meant that my new growth is really
thick and coarse, sorry about that! I've been using no lyes and am interested in switching to lye but I dont know if
I'll always be able to obtain it. Also, I remember about 3 years ago when i first came to college and starting using the no
lye kit relaxers after going to the salon and having it done always, I was looking like the bald head scatter rat they talked
about in the "Chickenhead" song.

iencyst

Hi ya'll, I've been reading this board and partaking of the many wonderful tips for a while now, thanks.