Question re: Braids for Growth

Julia

If you want to use braids as a protective style, but more importantly to assist you to gain length, how long would you recommend keeping them in?

When would you put them in? (i.e. two weeks after a touch up etc). /images/graemlins/drunk.gif

HOTCHOCOLATE

I'm doing twists and kept it in for 2 months. I'm going to try and wait at least 2 wks before I retouch and I'll probably wait 3-4 wks after retouch. Semi-Crown n Glory Tech.

Kamilla16

I would recommend...

you get braids about 3-4 weeks after you touch-up. /images/graemlins/smile.gif I'm no expert, but my mom has done braids for over 11 years!! /images/graemlins/shocked.gif and I would recommend you keep your braids in for 3 months at the MAX. Believe me, My hair grows sooo FAST when I have braids. Hope this helps /images/graemlins/wink.gif

Karima /images/graemlins/cool.gif

hairfanatic

Hey HOTCHOCOLATE,

I have a few questions...are your twists with extensions or your natural hair? If they are with extensions, are they easy to take down? And...what type of hair do you use for your twists?

HOTCHOCOLATE

Hairfanatic, /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Yes, it's was with extensions. I used human hair Afro Kinky from the Janet Collection. I thought it was very easy compared to braids. My twists stayed moist. Every night I would spray a mixture of glycerin, infusium, ess. oil and water on each twist. When I took the twists down, I also saturated each twist with my mixture. It took me 5 hours to remove---that could be long for some, but this was my first time removing any twists.

Has anyone seen the Disney show "RAVEN", I'm thinking of having my hair plaited like the mother for next time---or probably twists again.

hairfanatic

Thanks HOTCHOCOLATE. /images/graemlins/wink.gif