Question to those who BC'd....

Newbie here! I am currently transitioning and am about 5 months post. These two textures are testing a girls patience! I want to just do away with the relaxed ends, my question is did any of you who bc'd run into problems or obstacles with your hair after the chop? Also did you ever regret cutting it all off?

gressr

I BC'd after 2 months. My only problem was my hair was extremely dry and rough to the feel. That problem was solved after a good deep conditioning and learning to moisturize, moisturize, moisturize. Doing my chop early was a great decision for me, because i had shorter hair to deal with( only 2 inches) That made it easier to manage and learn what works on my hair.

justNikki

I had moments when I wished I didn't have to go that low (less than an inch), however, I never really regretted the decision to let it go and start over fresh. The biggest challenge for me was 1) getting used to seeing myself with hair THAT short...I'd gone short before (think halle), but this was a different thing for me and 2) finding what works for MY HAIR...it wasn't until I actually started paying attention to the top 5 ingredients in products that my hair responds well to that I found myself moving away from the whole PJ thing. Yes, I still like trying new stuff, but I'm not a bandwagon type of chick.

Unlike a lot of naturals who tell everyone to just BC already, I say, I can understand how that's not for everybody. When you get fed up with transistioning and you've mentally prepared yourself for different styling options, etc, then, you're ready....don't do it until YOU'RE READY.

ETA: The longer you're natural, the greater the chances are that you'll stay that way. I like straightening every now and then, but, big hair is what looks best on me now. My fiance even prefers my curly mane to my straightened hair.

Last edited:

jtotheb