Regrets about BC

ceedeelight

Hi Ladies,
I'm new to LHCF. I have been transitioning for 1 year. I have been going back and forward about BC the relaxed ends and being natural. I don't think I would look nice with an twa. I have about 5-6 inches of new unrelaxed growth and b/w 4-6 inches of relaxed hair left. I wanted to know if there were any ladies who are natural and regretted doing the B/C.

hopeful

Oh you know you should probably wait until you feel a little more sure. I bc'd for the 2nd (and prayerfully) the last time in March 2006. Initially I did regret it. For a few weeks I felt very unattractive. So I kept it covered up with scarves for awhile. Are you having a hard time managing the two textures? If not maybe you can go another 6 months. The good news is that if you are in shock after the bc and/or you feel unattractive, you can always wear a wig or get a weave or braids for awhile to let it grow a little longer. Good luck.

P

patient1

I big chopped 16 years ago and never looked back BUT I don't think you should do it that way.

It's your God-given right to feel beautiful. :) So take your time. The good think about having the relaxed ends that you know you'll eventually part with is that they're a built in protective zone as you grow you hair off. Keep em until you have the length you want (even if that's a year or so from now) and then you know you can lop em off and have fresh healthy ends.

You can't lose!

p1

tyte curlz

no regrets because i had a pixie cut when my hair was relaxed so their wasnt much length to begin with. But i never whore my TWA anyway always covered in scarves i growing my hair out with braids untill i can pull all this lovely curly hair into a puff, I say wait until ur ready bc the last thing u want is for u to be unsure or regret your bc, it will be that much easier for u to revert back to a relaxer. As long as your enjoying the process than keep on transitioning some ladies go 2 years before they even think about BCing.HTH