Rollersetters: Do you have to use a PIBBS????

MsDeeD

I know everyone here who owns one raves about their PIBBS. Well unfortunatley, I can't afford one right now. I do own a hooded hair dryer though that has three temperature settings.. So what are my other options. If I use a hooded dryer, or air dry will I still get good results??? I mean does anyone else use something else besides the PIBBS to dry your rollersets. If so, I would love to hear your results. I'm new to roller setting and I was just hoping for good results without using the PIBBS. Eventually I will get one, if I can master roller sets.

MiWay

You don't NEED a Pibbs. I use a Gold n Hot. I've had it for years and it works just fine. My hair is always dry in less than an hour.

LivingDoll

No, a PIBBS is just a brand of dryer. When my hair was longer, I'd even dried a rollerset under a soft bonnet dryer (just careful when I pulled the dryer over my rollers). I think the PIBBS is desirable because of the circulation and even distribution of the air, the fact that you can control the actual heat temp (on the 514, I think) and the quick drying times as compared to regular hooded dryers.

Ms. Plain Jane

Heck naw you don't need a Pibbs!

I have a Conair hardhat dryer and a Gold N Hot soft bonnet dryer.

I plan on getting a Pibbs or something similar eventually, but only because they're more powerful than the 2 dryers I already have.

myco

I don't own a Pibbs. I actually can't even remember the brand right now. I bought it at Sally's for $30. I would like a larger hood to accomodate the rollers in the back and better air circulation, but it works just fine.

Since the hair in the back is still sometimes wet when the other sections are dry, I use mesh rollers (without the prickly thing in the center) on the bottom rows of my hair. I set all the other sections on magnetic rollers.

LongTimeComing