She said I should tex-lax

DigitalRain

I was talking to a lady at work who I thought had natural hair. Its gorgeous. She later told me that she is texlaxed and that I should do the same.

I have about 90% shrinkage, at least it seems to me. Right now its at a manageable length but Im wondering how long that will last.

Can I get some pro's and con's on tex laxing?

achangedlife

I'm pretty new to texlaxing but I'll tell you what I think so far.

Pros: Thicker hair, less damage hair which results in length retention in the long run.
Depending on how much texture you leave in your hair your styling options
will probably more versatile (ex. wash and goes, or straight)

Cons: The only issue I've had is that I haven't been able to get my edges slick enough
and I looked like I needed a retouch after 3 weeks. However, I think that was due
to my relaxer. I just switched from the Hawaiian Silky Lye to Hawaiin Silky No Lye
It came out straighter but still with some texture. I used the regular but could
downgrade to the mild for more texture.

BlackMasterPiece

I just wanted to chime in briefly to add that just because someone suggested that they thought you should alter your hair....doesn't mean you should then internalize it as if its absolute truth.....its one persons opinion.

Unmanageable is a state of mind....every hair type can be managed and retain well with willingness to learn and proper techniques.

Tis all.

Soliel185

Well..the Pros I guess would include less shrinkage. It might make you hair more "manageable" as in easier to lay down. You would probably still be able to do most if not all natural styles, but it would be easier to straighten. You can stretch for long periods of time.