Texlaxed ladies...

glamazon386

How often do you texlax your hair? Every so many weeks? A few times a year? I've been relaxing 4 times a year since 2004. The last time I went 5 1/2 months. I'm trying to go 6 this time. The dom salon texlaxed my hair last time, and I like it much better than the bone straight relaxing. Would letting them texlax my hair 2 to 3 times a year be okay?

Legend

Trichological Alchemist
I have my hair texlaxed only 2-4 times a year on average. As long as you properly care for the relaxed portion of you hair and the new growth (and it sounds like you do already), stretch as long as you are able. There's nothing wrong with relaxing only 1-3 times a year. That is one great benefit of texlaxing--the ability to stretch longer. When I used to have my hair relaxed much straighter, I had to get a touch up every 5-8 weeks, which was nearly impossible for me to keep up with.

BTW: I had my hairtexlaxed on March 3, and am waiting until June or July for a touch-up

Last edited:

WaterMoccasin

Crap- I must be the only one...
I've been tex-laxed since September and the touch-ups so far have been 9 weeks, 9 weeks, 6 weeks.

I need to learn to deal with the bush/tangles at that time better I guess. *off to check out 'stretching' threads*
Wait! *runs back in* I think I'm on the way though- this last time, at 6 weeks, I got braids in so it should be 11-13 weeks this time when I take them out (and treat for a week before tex-laxing)! :look:
I'll be repeating this process for the rest of the year: waiting until I want to relax to put braids in, so I should average 12 weeks I guess.
4 times a year is fine with me!

*Happily Me*

BahamaMama said:
Crap- I must be the only one...
I've been tex-laxed since September and the touch-ups so far have been 9 weeks, 9 weeks, 6 weeks.

Me too!

Perhaps i could stretch it a little longer...

MelsWifey

Hair Fanatic